Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Dates Posted for 2014 Cleanup Days, Shredding, and Garage Sales

Ready to jump into some spring cleaning? The Green Meadows West Homeowners Association will conduct its annual "neighborhood garage sale" Fri., May 2 and Sat. May 3, 2014.

On and around these dates, neighbors are encouraged to conduct and advertise their individual sales. The association will advertise the neighborhood-wide event via online classifieds, social media, and yard signs posted at entrances.

Starting Mon., April 28, individual signage in association common areas will be allowed temporarily, including at neighborhood entrances. Subject to city enforcement, neighbors are reminded to place signs approximately 18 feet away from the curb on the following streets:
  • N.W. 86th Street
  • N.W. 54th Avenue
  • N.W. 62nd Avenue
Signs should be removed by those who placed the signs not later than Mon., May 5.

This is the first year that the neighborhood garage sale will not be conducted immediately prior to the City of Johnston's annual "Cleanup Days" event. At this year's annual meeting, members asked that the neighborhood garage sale be moved to a potentially warmer month. On Mon., April 14 and Tues., April 15 Johnston residents can place additional trash and bulky waste items for collection during normal trash collection.

Tires and tree branches may also be disposed of through the city's department of public works, 6400 N.W. Beaver Drive, on April 10, 11, and 12. Branches cannot be larger than 18 inches in diameter. Drop-off hours are from 7:30 am until 3:30 p.m. on Thurs., April 10 and Fri., April 11;, 8:00 a.m until 12 noon on Sat., April 12. Click here for details.

Getting rid of out-dated tax records or other personal, private information? A FREE on-site paper-shredding service will be located at the Johnston Public Library, 6700 Merle Hay Road, on Sat., April 19, from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment